History of Our Church
Friendship United Methodist Church has a rich history and was founded in 1906. Services were first conducted in a tent at the current church location with 30 charter members, including some of Pinellas County's pioneer families. Friendship's first building was wooden and was constructed in 1907. For the first 42 years after it was organized, the church was served by part-time pastors. A three-room Sunday School building was built in 1952. This building was replaced in 1957 by Hodnett Hall, which contained an assembly hall, a kitchen and four classrooms.
The current church building replaced the original wooden structure in 1958. An addition to Hodnett Hall was built in 1965 that included a nursery, three classrooms, several closets, two restrooms, and a utility room. The kitchen was also remodeled.
Along with the building's growth throughout the years, growth within the congregation took place as well. Membership grew. The women's and men's organizations were formed. Sunday School classes and a youth group were formed. Choirs were formed and the music ministry grew. In the past Friendship has been in mission with a sister church in Cuba and more recently in mission to Haiti.